What inspired me at the V&A museum



I have been ask to visit the V&A Museum and choose an item that inspired me, as well as describing the object and the general exhibition at the V&A. Looking back at that point of time, finding an inspiration was not that hard. Everything I observed was more or less inspiring. It could be a piece of garment behind glass-encrusted walls or a strange looking statue that you can’t even describe. However, if I happen to walk pass this strange looking statue somewhere outside, I supposedly wouldn’t even look at it. But, putting all these items on a Museum, it influences me in a way of thinking in depth and from different perspectives. Why does this statue look so strange that it actually looks kind of cool? Who made it and what was the person thinking? Is it functional or is it just a piece of rock that just wasted my time. Moving on, saw a sign that literally took my mind a run. Quickly did I go, through the opening, into the one and only Fashion exhibition at the V&A.  This is where I belong, full of colours, patterns, materials, textiles, fabrics etc. All these things form a masterpiece. For example, we have the gorgeous evening dress from Jean Patou and the pair of sequin shoes from Vivienne Westwood and so forth.

Ultimately, I found my inspirational at the Fashion exhibition. A dress designed by Alexander McQueen for his last Spring/Summer collection. A detailed dress, that gave me an intense imagination, that touched my emotions and that set my creative thinking in action. The colours and the patterns go so well together in that dress and it just acknowledging what a master Alexander McQueen is. Moreover, what is the most interesting in this part is the futuristic vision. I couldn’t help but thinking how the future would look like when I saw that dress. Not only the future in general but it also gave me an innovative vision of fashion. Compare to the other items at the fashion exhibition, Alexander McQueen’s dress, according to me, is the future, whilst the other clothing were from different time line but they still inspires and influences a lot in our present time.

 

At last, I actually achieved an outcome out of the exhibition. I have learned a lot more about different fashion designer and how they work in different ways.  I thought this assessment gave me a meaningful and useful experience and I now feel that I want to see more, learn more and know more.

 

Here's another dress designed by Franco Moschino. Pretty innovative huh?

 

 

 

And here's something out of fashion. It's a "hide and seek" board made by Hiroko Matsushita. Cute isn't it?

 

 


Kommentarer
Postat av: Alexander_Tr

lol, BeHå power dress!

2010-12-01 @ 21:19:25
URL: http://escapethereality.wordpress.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0